Professional Affairs Comittee


The Professional Affairs Committee was initiated in 2018 by the then President Andrew Manktelow. The concept was to draw upon the experience and opinion of BHS members beyond the Executive committee with regard to the increasing number of enquires that where being received at that time. Under the existing BHS Constitution three members were initially co-opted and subsequently the “Terms of Reference” for the Professional Affairs Committee were ratified at the BHS Annual General Meeting in 2019 and now form part of the society’s formal constitution.


The Professional Affairs Committee comprises five members, chaired by the BHS Immediate Past President and supported by the BHS Secretary from the elected Executive. Three BHS members in good standing complete the committee.


Professor David H. Sochart
  • MBChB, FRCS(Edin.), FRCPS(Glasg.), FRCS(Tr. & Orth.), MD
  • Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
  • Specialist in Lower Limb Arthroplasty
  • Academic Surgical Unit (ASU) at the South West London Elective Orthopaedic Centre (SWLEOC) 
Mr. Phillip Mitchell
  • MB BS BSc(Hons) FRCS FRCS (Tr&Orth)
  • Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
  • St George’s Hospital, London Consultant orthopaedic surgeon
  • Medical Director, South West London Elective Orthopaedic Centre
Mr. Simon Buckley
  • MB BS FRCS(Tr & Orth)
  • Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
  • Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Dominic Meek
Kate Gill
Ben Bolland
Syed Ahmed


In terms of the activity and nature of enquires received to date these has been varied. Common themes have included challenges with the provision of support from management, theatre assistance and also training issues, especially in the theatre environment. The committee members have also provided feedback and comment on many of the practice and policy documents that the BHS receives and contributes to on behalf of the membership. For example, the recent series of NICE evidence reviews applicable to hip surgery and in addition significantly contributed to the recent surgical prioritisation document produced by the society.