Please see the information below for the current exciting fellowship opportunities.

Please contact Sam Hook if you need further details prior to applying.

The closing date for all 3 fellowships is 31st January and interviews are to take place at the BHS Annual Meeting in Belfast on 28th February 2024.

Interviews can be over zoom if applicants unable to attend the meeting.

Travel begins 27th August 2024, and culminates at the BOA Annual Meeting in Birmingham on 17th-20th September 2024.  Fellows typically visit 5-6 centres in the United Kingdom.

This fellowship is a partnership of The Hip Society and British Hip Society and provides an exceptional exchange opportunity to two outstanding candidates from the United States and/or Canada and 2 candidates from the UK.  

Successful candidates will travel throughout the United Kingdom for a period of three to four weeks and will be hosted by world-renowned experts in adult hip reconstruction.  

The program will include opportunities for scientific exchange, operating theatre observations, close interaction with faculty, as well as social and cultural events.

Applicants should be members of the British Hip Society and be a Consultant or a post CCT fellow at the time of application. The applicants should confirm that they will be able to commit to attending the full period of the fellowship (weekends will be mostly free from academic and clinical activity, and fellows can return to family if they need to do so). 

Social and networking activities will be organised by the host centers for those who wish to join those – confirmation of plans will be required in advance.

For some inspiration and a sense of the fellowship, follow on X (formerly Twitter) #BHSAHSFellowship and read some quotes from the recent US fellows HERE


Application Requirements:

1) Covering letter with personal statement and explanation of what you will bring to the fellowship

2) Up to date copy of your CV

3)Two letters of reference from Consultant BHS members


Please send applications to: 

Samantha Hook (member at Large)

Kathryn Gill (Secretary)

DO NOT apply on the website

The BHS offers a pecuniary grant for up to two surgeons per year to enable applicants to broaden their experience in hip surgery and develop their specialist interest. The grant will support the applicants’ travel and incurred expenses including for example childcare, and will be offered competitively to surgeons who are BHS members, post FRCS (Tr&Orth), and who may be a senior trainee or a consultant within their first seven years after appointment. 

Fellowship opportunities for 2024 are now available to apply for. Two grants of £2500 are available. 

Application Requirements:

1) Covering letter with a detailed Summary of your fellowship plans

2) Up to date copy of your CV

3)Two letters of reference from Consultant BHS members

Please send applications to: 

Samantha Hook (member at large)

Kathryn Gill (Secretary)

The BHS is keen to encourage non-surgical colleagues to further their education by visiting other centers involved in hip surgery and therapy. Therefore, this year we are inviting medical students and physiotherapists who are BHS members to apply for this grant which will support travel and expenses.

Applications are now open for two grants of £750 for 2024. 

To apply please send a copy of your proposed itinerary and a supporting letter to: 

Samantha Hook and 

Kathryn Gill

If your application is successful, we will require confirmation of acceptance from the center you are visiting. 


2020  – Not appointed

2020  – Mr Peter Cnudde (Carmarthen)

2019  –  Mr Ben Burston (Oswestry)

2018  –  Mr Christopher Gooding (Cambridge)

2017  –  Mr Sujith Konan (London)

2016  –  Mr Matthew Wilson (Exeter)

2015  –  Mr Jason Webb (Bristol)

2014  –  Mr Nikhil Shah (Wrightington)

2013  –  Mr Henry Wynn-Jones (Wrightington)

2020  –  Not Appointed

2019  –  Dr Brian Fuller (Texas) travelled with Dr Wim Rijnen (Nijmegen) nominated by EHS

2018  –  Not Appointed

2016  –  Dr Joseph Schwab (Wisconsin) / Dr Michael Blankstein, (Vermont)

2014  –  Dr James Brown (Virginia) / Dr Joshua Carrothers (New Mexico)

2012  –  Dr Ryan Nunley (Washington/ Dr Sharat Kusuma (Columbus)

2010  –  Dr James Howard (Ontario) / Dr Hany Bedair (Boston)

2008  –  Dr Michael Dayton (Colorado) / Dr James Huddleston (California)

2006  –  Dr Amar Ranawat (New York) / Dr Mike Archibeck (New Mexico)

2004  –  Dr Keith Berendt (Ohio)/ Dr William Macauley (New York)

2015  –  Simon Jamieson (Middlesborough), Sujith Konan (London)

2013  –  Primod Achan (London), Sanjiv Patil (Glasgow)

2011  –  Mr Timothy Board (Wrightington) / Mr Vikas Khanduja (Cambridge)

2009  –  Mr Pramod Achan (London) / Mr Sanjiv Patil (Glasgow)

2007  –  Mr Mukesh Hemmady (Norwich) / Mr James Wimhurst (Norwich)

2005  –  Mr Dominic Meek (Edinburgh) / Mr Anil Gambhir (Wrightington)

2003  –  Mr Fares Haddad (London)/ Mr David Sochart (Manchester)